A host may want to edit a recording made on TalkShoe after the live call has been terminated.  To prevent subscribers and listeners to the downloads from hearing the unedited version, the host can hide the episode while editing and the replacing the TalkShoe recording.


Here are the steps to follow:

First Hide the Episode
1. If you are signed in to the TalkShoe website with your hosting account on the TalkShoe website, skip ahead to step 4.

Otherwise, go to http://www.talkshoe.com (will open in a new tab).



 
2. Click the "Sign-In" button at the top right corner of the website.






 
3. Enter your user name and password, then click the white "Sign-In" button below.










 
4. If you are already on your TalkShoe call series page with the episode you want to hide, skip ahead to step 6; otherwise click the white "myTalkShoe" button.






 
5. From the list of Call Series, click on the call series title that has the episode that you want to hide.

 
6. On the call series page, find the episode that you want to hide.


 
7. Click the "OPTIONS" button.









 
8. In the popup menu, click "HIDE".












 
The episode listing should now have a pink background with a red X on the left.  
The episode is hidden.



Download the Episode
If you have a Local Recording of the episode, you can edit that local recording.

If you don't have a local recording, when TalkShoe is finished processing the episode, download it from TalkShoe
 - Right click "Download"
 - Left click "Save Link as..." or "Save As"
    (depending on the browser)
 - Save it to a location you can find on your computer





Edit the Episode
Edit your recording with an audio editing program such as Audacity.

 

 
TalkShoe cannot provide support for Audacity or any other third party audio editing programs.

You may want to save the edited version with a different filename so that you have both versions of the recording, the original and the unedited versions on your computer.

Make sure to save your edited recording in MP3 format at a sampling frequency of a multiple of 11,025 Hz (such as 22,050 Hz).  It is also recommended to save in mono or joint-stereo.  The bit-rate quality should be 64kbps or 96kbps.

The file size must be 100MB or smaller.



Upload and Replace the Episode
Once the episode is edited, upload it to TalkShoe by replacing the existing unedited episode.

 
1. If you are signed in to the TalkShoe website with your hosting account on the TalkShoe website, skip ahead to step 4.

Otherwise, go to http://www.talkshoe.com (will open in a new tab).



 
2. Click the "Sign-In" button at the top right corner of the website.






 
3. Enter your user name and password, then click the white "Sign-In" button below.










 
4. If you are already on your TalkShoe call series page with the episode you want to replace the existing recording, skip ahead to step 6; otherwise click the white "myTalkShoe" button.






 
5. From the list of Call Series, click on the call series title that has the episode that you are replacing.

 
6. On the call series page, find the episode that you want to replace the recording of.


 
7. Click the "OPTIONS" button.









 
8. In the popup menu, click "UPLOAD".












 
9. On the next screen, click "Choose File".  Find the file that you edited on your computer.  Choose it.  Then click "Upload Recording".




 
10. A message will appear stating to be patient as the recording uploads.


 
You must stay on this screen until you receive the next message:

Click "Back to Call Series".


The edited episode has now successfully uploaded and replaced the old version.
The edited episode is being processed by TalkShoe and should appear within one hour.





One Last Task - Make the Episode Visible Again
1. After the edited version becomes available for download, on the call series page, find the hidden episode that you want to make visible.

 
2. Click the "OPTIONS" button.








 
3. In the popup menu, click "SHOW".












 
The episode will become visible again.



If you replace a recording, TalkShoe cannot revert it back to the original, unedited version of the recording.

If you have the original, unedited version saved as a Local Recording, you could go upload and replace the recording again with the unedited version.